The Order of the arrow

For over 100 years, the Order of the Arrow (OA) has recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. This recognition provides encouragement for others to live these ideals as well. Arrowmen are known for maintaining camping traditions and spirit, promoting year-round and long term resident camping, and providing cheerful service to others. OA service, activities, adventures, and training for youth and adults are models of quality leadership development and programming that enrich and help to extend Scouting to America’s youth.


The Scouts and Scouters of the Ahoalan-Nachpikin Lodge are part of a significant, century-old program known as the Order of the Arrow, the “National Honor Society” of Scouts, B.S.A. The name “Ahoalan-Nachpikin” (pronounced “ah-ho-all-lun notch-pick-in”) translates to “We Who Love the Outdoors.” We are represented by our totem, the bear.

We are chartered by and serve the Chickasaw Council, which encompasses Shelby County in West Tennessee, East Arkansas, and North Mississippi. We provide community service through many channels. We help with council and district events, particularly with program facilitation and support. We also serve our council camps, Camp Currier and Kia Kima Scout Reservation.

Just Elected?

Becoming a member of the Order of the Arrow (OA) is an esteemed recognition. To be chosen by your fellow Scouts to become a part of our brotherhood is one of the greatest compliments a Scout can receive, and your election shows your commitment to Scouting’s ideals.

Click below to see your next steps!

Schedule Your Unit Election

So how do my Scouts become members?

To become a member, each Scout has to be elected by their Troop. Elections can be scheduled by clicking the button below and can take place at a Troop meeting!

Unit Representative Program

The Order of the Arrow Unit Representative program establishes a youth liaison in each unit to serve between the lodge and their unit.  The Troop Representative is a recognized leadership position that counts toward rank advancement, including Eagle.