Ahoalan-Nachpikin Lodge Awards

Founders Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with a wooden base and a brass plate suitable for engraving. Available for uniform wear is a gold-colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Arrowman of the Year

This award is presented to a youth Arrowman for outstanding service to the lodge during the last year.

Rookie of the Year

This award is presented to a youth member for their demonstration of enthusiastic service to the lodge as a new member.

Vigil Honor

The Vigil Honor is the highest honor that the Order of the Arrow can bestow upon its members for service to lodge, council, and Scouting. Membership cannot be won by a person’s conscious endeavors.

The Vigil Honor is a high mark of distinction and recognition reserved for those Arrowmen who, by reason of exceptional service, personal effort, and unselfish interest, have made distinguished contributions beyond the immediate responsibilities of their position of office to the Lodge, Order of the Arrow, Scouting Community, and or Scout Camp.

James E. West Award

This award is presented to recognize a person for their achievements in the lodge. A $1,000 donation is made to the Chickasaw Council Endowment Fund by the lodge on behalf of the recipient.

Gilhim Award

This lodge recognition is presented in appreciation to those who stand out in providing a steadfast “encouraging” spirit. In the Lenni Lenape Indian language Gilhim means “to encourage.”

Ahoalan-Nachpikin Committee Awards

Ceremonies Committee Awards

Spirit Bear Ceremonial Award

Along the rainforest coast of British Columbia, a black bear whose fur is white or cream colored is known as what’s called a “spirit” bear. Even though white in coloration, these unique bears are still considered a part of the black bear species. In British Columbia, there may be as few as 100 spirit bears in existence. Outside British Columbia, they are even rarer, with only one bear in a million black bears being white. Like the spirit bear, the lodge ceremonies committee recognizes a few lodge ceremonialists who have stood out among the others. They have they dedicated themselves by diligently working and have overcome many obstacles and challenges to truly develop an understanding of the importance of providing a positive and memorable experience for every candidate by focusing on 5 areas within the committee within a calendar year:  Membership, Involvement, Commitment, Training, and Personification Membership and Involvement.

Allowat Leke Award

The words “allowat” and “leke” are Lenni Lenape for “mighty” and “loyal”. Each year the ceremonies committee recognizes an adult member who is NOT in an advisory position, that has gone above and beyond with helping the ceremonies committee. This recognition is called the Allowat Leke Award. The “mighty loyal” adult member is solely discussed and decided upon by only the youth members of the ceremonies committee.

Kichkinet Award

“I will guide them, and I will answer for them.” Words spoken by Kichkinet. Ceremonialists understand that Kichkinet embodies all three principles – Brotherhood, Cheerfulness, and Service and represents helpful, friendly, courteous, and kind. The ceremonialists receiving the Kichkinet Award have been guides for others to follow on being an active member of the lodge ceremonies committee.